after upgrading from 3.24 to 3.25, a few pages will, sometimes, load with this error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog. By refreshing I receive the correct page without error. Did I do something wrong in the upgrade, or is this a bug? I did a google searce for "Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog" and found a few different sites displaying the same error, and all from a WSN product.
Do you have a classes/modlog.php file? Do you have moderator logs switched off in your switches? Which pages, specifically, are you seeing the message on?
the error "Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog in /home/couponma/public_html/production/classes/onelink.php on line 458" appears on pages served by the main and displaylinks.tpl. Its being picked up by search engine spiders as well.
I do not see a switch to turn off the mod logs, however, Moderator usernotes and Let members be notified when moderated are both off
And yes I have all the files in the classes folder.
What do you mean by "sometimes"? You load the very same page and half the time it works and half the time it fails to include the file?
I don't remember seeing anything like this in the bug reports forum so I doubt it would've been patched, but try getting the latest copy of 3.25 anyway.
correct, about 25% of the time I get the error. Refreshing the page will correct it. The 3.25 version is the one downloaded the day I received the notice that it was available.
That version then is before the last patch date listed.
Index.php isn't actually a page modlog.php is supposed to be needed on. Are you doing something unusual that could somehow bring it in?
Well, you can replace
if (strstr($currenturl, 'threadadmin.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'bulkedit.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'edit.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'profile.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'addpoll.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'albums.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'shoutbox.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'quotelist.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'link.php') || strstr($currenturl, 'forumdetails.php')) { // only waste RAM on the modlog if we're on a page it could possibly be called on require 'classes/modlog.php'; }
That corrected the errors. Before changing the code, I downgraded back to 3.24 which also fixed the problem. This problem occured in a fresh install of 3.25 as well as upgrades. I did not change anything in the fresh install other than import a database as I have done in the past. This database has been upgraded to every current version of the program since 3.1x. It seems that it might be the fault of the database, but where?
I didn't say you changed anything since 3.24. 3.24 included modlog.php on every page regardless, wasting RAM. You would simply appear to have some template customization that 3.25 and 3.26 don't handle. You can confim this by uploading the default template set as an alternate template set and trying it.
I can handle that template customization and make the script work with it only if I know what it is.
I need to generate various meta description strings based on a series of custom displaylinks templates. I need to use several fields located within the category inside my <title> tags.
Comments on modlog error
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
after upgrading from 3.24 to 3.25, a few pages will, sometimes, load with this error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog. By refreshing I receive the correct page without error. Did I do something wrong in the upgrade, or is this a bug? I did a google searce for "Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog" and found a few different sites displaying the same error, and all from a WSN product.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
Do you have a classes/modlog.php file? Do you have moderator logs switched off in your switches? Which pages, specifically, are you seeing the message on?
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
the error "Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: modlog in /home/couponma/public_html/production/classes/onelink.php on line 458" appears on pages served by the main and displaylinks.tpl. Its being picked up by search engine spiders as well.
I do not see a switch to turn off the mod logs, however,
Moderator usernotes and Let members be notified when moderated are both off
And yes I have all the files in the classes folder.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
What do you mean by "sometimes"? You load the very same page and half the time it works and half the time it fails to include the file?
I don't remember seeing anything like this in the bug reports forum so I doubt it would've been patched, but try getting the latest copy of 3.25 anyway.
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
correct, about 25% of the time I get the error. Refreshing the page will correct it. The 3.25 version is the one downloaded the day I received the notice that it was available.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
That version then is before the last patch date listed.
Index.php isn't actually a page modlog.php is supposed to be needed on. Are you doing something unusual that could somehow bring it in?
Well, you can replace
with in prestart.php
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
Well,
That corrected the errors. Before changing the code, I downgraded back to 3.24 which also fixed the problem. This problem occured in a fresh install of 3.25 as well as upgrades. I did not change anything in the fresh install other than import a database as I have done in the past. This database has been upgraded to every current version of the program since 3.1x. It seems that it might be the fault of the database, but where?
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
I'd think it would have to have something to do with a template customization that somehow involves the modlog on that page.
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
But its the same templates and database used on 3.24 and 3.25. only on 3.25 and 3.26 do I see the error.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
I didn't say you changed anything since 3.24. 3.24 included modlog.php on every page regardless, wasting RAM. You would simply appear to have some template customization that 3.25 and 3.26 don't handle. You can confim this by uploading the default template set as an alternate template set and trying it.
I can handle that template customization and make the script work with it only if I know what it is.
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
Is there something in the wrapper that could cause this? I don't remember seeing the problem with the default wrapper and my custom templates.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
Is there something in the wrapper that could cause this?
Since you haven't showed me your wrapper, how am I supposed to answer that?
Experienced
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Oct 02, 2003
Total Topics: 33
Total Comments: 97
ok, is there a change to the default wrapper that would cause it?
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html>
<!-- BODY GOES HERE -->
My <header> is generated from main and displaylinks templates.
My default "displaylinks template"
<head>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="[IFADMIN../]templates/styles/{STYLESHEET}.css" type="text/css">
<title>{CATNAME}: xxxxxx</title>
<meta name="description" content="xxxxxx">
<meta name="keywords" content="{CATSTORE_NAME} xxxx,{CATMETA_KEYWORDS}">
<meta name="robots" content="index,follow">
<meta http-equiv="expires" content="0">
</head>
I need to generate various meta description strings based on a series of custom displaylinks templates. I need to use several fields located within the category inside my <title> tags.
I sent the full templates to you via PM
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
I see nothing that should involve the modlog, so I'll just have to reverse the RAM savings despite it not seeming to have affected anybody else yet.