OK, this is a long shot as I don't know if it can be done.
I want a pop-up window to appear when a user clicks on a link. This window will contain a code that is specific to that link.
So, user clicks on link and is taken to external site, PLUS pop-up window opens. Reason is that I want to make sure users go to the site using my link, so I don't want them to have the code unless they click on the link.
Possible? Ideas?
I currently have link opening in a frame that showed the code at the top, but have just discovered that some sites will not work like that. Some merchants can't use a basket whilst in a frame and another simply skips immediately out of the frame so the user doesn't see the code.
Thanks both of you. Hai - it sort of works in that it opens a new window :-)
The problem I am having is that I can't get the new window to show the code. All I get is the actual fieldname so the window is just not relating to wsnlinks. (see attached)
Is the page you attached a screenshot of a custom template? If so then the link would be index.php?custom=yes&TID=custom-page, where page is the name of the custom template.
Comments on go to link AND open pop up window?
Expert
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 19, 2005
Location: England
Total Topics: 391
Total Comments: 1303
OK, this is a long shot as I don't know if it can be done.
I want a pop-up window to appear when a user clicks on a link. This window will contain a code that is specific to that link.
So, user clicks on link and is taken to external site, PLUS pop-up window opens. Reason is that I want to make sure users go to the site using my link, so I don't want them to have the code unless they click on the link.
Possible? Ideas?
I currently have link opening in a frame that showed the code at the top, but have just discovered that some sites will not work like that. Some merchants can't use a basket whilst in a frame and another simply skips immediately out of the frame so the user doesn't see the code.
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 03, 2007
Location: NY & PA
Total Topics: 94
Total Comments: 339
Ok, here's a shot in the dark, didn't test it, but thought I'd share -
<a href="{LINKDETAILSURL}" onclick="window.open('{TRACKLINKURL}','newwin');">{LINKTITLE}</a>
Let me know if it works or not, I'm curious to see if I got even close.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
Should be possible with javascript. The link would be an onclick to a javascript function. www.google.com/search?hl=en...en+two+windows&btnG=Search
Expert
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 19, 2005
Location: England
Total Topics: 391
Total Comments: 1303
Thanks both of you. Hai - it sort of works in that it opens a new window :-)
The problem I am having is that I can't get the new window to show the code. All I get is the actual fieldname so the window is just not relating to wsnlinks. (see attached)
The current code I have is....
I have tried numerous different urls to open the new link, either they didn't work
or just produced this same result
Attached Files:
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 03, 2007
Location: NY & PA
Total Topics: 94
Total Comments: 339
Does the new window code actually work when it's not within the javascript?
Or what about maybe switching the 2 codes? Put the new window code in the href and the link in the new window. Does that work by chance?
Expert
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 19, 2005
Location: England
Total Topics: 391
Total Comments: 1303
Nope - still just get the same.
It is obviously the
that is incorrect, but I am not sure what else to use other than the index.php
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Apr 03, 2007
Location: NY & PA
Total Topics: 94
Total Comments: 339
Is the page you attached a screenshot of a custom template? If so then the link would be index.php?custom=yes&TID=custom-page, where page is the name of the custom template.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
scripts.webmastersite.net/w...ng-custom-templates-6.html
Expert
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Aug 19, 2005
Location: England
Total Topics: 391
Total Comments: 1303
scripts.webmastersite.net/w...ng-custom-templates-6.html
Thanks! I had put just id instead of linkid - all works great now