I sometimes want submitted links to appear in a different order than when they were submitted, so I'm trying to change the value of Date Submitted. Here's what I added in the edit link template:
The feature to change submission times was added in 3.2.0. Your hack is presumably altering the database field directly, which means you'd need to type the number of seconds since 1970, and typing a date will get your data ignored and replaced with a 0 since it's an integer field.
Okay, that explains why that was happening. Is there some way I can take a select file from the new version and use it in my version, or add a routine to convert the date into seconds? I want to avoid upgrading if possible, since I don't really need the new features and would rather not redo all my templates.
Comments on Changing value of Date Submitted
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Jun 02, 2004
Total Topics: 32
Total Comments: 142
I sometimes want submitted links to appear in a different order than when they were submitted, so I'm trying to change the value of Date Submitted. Here's what I added in the edit link template:
However, every time I hit submit on that form, it changes the date to 12/31/1969. Am I using the wrong variable, or is this not possible?
Adam
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
The feature to change submission times was added in 3.2.0. Your hack is presumably altering the database field directly, which means you'd need to type the number of seconds since 1970, and typing a date will get your data ignored and replaced with a 0 since it's an integer field.
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Jun 02, 2004
Total Topics: 32
Total Comments: 142
Okay, that explains why that was happening. Is there some way I can take a select file from the new version and use it in my version, or add a routine to convert the date into seconds? I want to avoid upgrading if possible, since I don't really need the new features and would rather not redo all my templates.
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
No, you can't upgrade without upgrading.
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Jun 02, 2004
Total Topics: 32
Total Comments: 142
Okay, so is there some php I can add that'll make this conversion for me? Maybe a snippet out of the newer version inserted into the old?
Forum Regular
Usergroup: Customer
Joined: Jun 02, 2004
Total Topics: 32
Total Comments: 142
So I guess a snippet can't be added to the input/edit routine to do this conversion then?
developer
Usergroup: Administrator
Joined: Dec 20, 2001
Location: Diamond Springs, California
Total Topics: 61
Total Comments: 7868
Modifying enough code will do anything. I'm not going to rewrite 3.16 into 3.3.5, since I've already done that once.